Five Pillars

Bida'ah Fiqh Jihad Knowledge


Five Pillars



The Five Pillars of Islam

The five pillars of Islam explains the basic concepts of a Muslim's beliefs.


  1. Shahadatain:  The statement made by an individual to become a Muslim.  It states that there is no God but Allah and Muhammad is his prophet


  1. Salat:  The performance of the mandatory five daily prayers.


Fajr:  The morning prayer performed before sunrise,


Zuhr:  The mid-morning prayer performed afternoon.


Asr:  The mid-afternoon prayer performed half way between noon and sunset.


Maghrib:  The prayer performed right after sunset.


I'sha:  The prayer performed two to three hours after sunset.


  1. Zakat The giving of charity to the needy.


  1. Sawm:  The observance of fasting for the holy month of Ramadan (The month of fasting)


  1. Hajj:  The pilgrimage performed to the holy cities of Makkah and Madinah, by those Muslims who are financially and physically able to do so.


The practice of Islam is so much a part of the Muslim's life that it is hard to separate one from the other.  Islam is not only a religion, it is a way of life.  What better way to keep oneself in compliance with Allah's (SWT) plan for mankind?

The Link below has detailed information on the five pillars of Islam.


5 Pillars of Islam


Top of Page


 Send me an e-mail: